Curriculum Overview

We implement our mission to be a School of Character through our bespoke LCA+ curriculum.

LCA+ is a challenging, broad and engaging curriculum consisting of seven academic and subject strands and seven strands of personal and social education and development.

The strands prepare and equip all pupils with the knowledge, curiosity and personal traits for success in the next phase of their education and life regardless of their background or any disadvantage.

The primary purpose of the curriculum is to develop to the maximum extent the academic and personal potential of each pupil.

Specifically, the LCA+ curriculum aims to create:

  • learners who know more and remember more than the national curriculum and the examination and testing content and specification require;
  • engaged learners who are developing better moral, physical, spiritual, emotional and social habits and dispositions;
  • fluent and confident writers and readers;
  • purposeful learners able to use numeracy and critical thinking skills to ask questions and solve problems;
  • passionate learners who know how they learn and who love to learn.

Curriculum Intent

Click here to read about the intent of our LCA+ curriculum. 

LCA Curriculum

We challenge and support all pupils to engage in a demanding study in core subjects and subject disciplines - LCA. We insist on a place for the arts, design technology and a foreign language within that programme of study.

LCA strands

  • English
  • Technology, Enterprise and Sport
  • Science
  • Expressive Arts
  • Maths
  • Languages
  • Humanities

LC+ Curriculum

We also deliver a graduated programme of character education referred to in the College as LC+. The seven strands of this holistic curriculum ensure pupils develop their character and resilience, giving them the confidence and skills to succeed at university and in the world of work.

LC+ strands

  • Artistic Expression
  • Awe & Wonder
  • Leadership Education
  • Life Skills
  • Physical Fitness
  • PSHE
  • Service & Community

To find out more about the development and design of the LC+ curriculum, please click here. You can also access the information about the LC+ curriculum in each part of the school on the individual curriculum pages for Primary (Reception-Chapter 6), Senior (Chapter 7-11) and Sixth Form (Chapter 12-13). 

The Chapter Diploma Award

The Chapter Diploma Award seeks to reward pupils for their increasing understanding and commitment to their own wellbeing and that of others around them throughout their time in each Chapter. It is effectively the means of assessing and recognising success within the LC+ curriculum.

By recognising how each pupil strives for independence and self regulation, how they demonstrate respect both for themselves and for others, and a sense of citizenship within Liverpool College we seek to reward the unique education that we offer beyond their important academic achievements. 

Each Chapter’s diploma operates within the same framework of Bronze, Silver and Gold with age appropriate and increasingly challenging expectations as children progress on their journey through Liverpool College.

Click here to download the award criteria at Gold, Silver and Bronze level. 

These Diploma Awards are awarded in a Chapter awards ceremony at the end of each academic year. For details of the awards in 2022-23 academic year, please click here

Find out more about our curriculum

If you would like to find out more about our curriculum please look at the individual curriculum pages for Primary (Reception- Chapter 6), Senior (Chapter 7-11) and Sixth Form (Chapter 12-13); our Curriculum Policy or contact the school with your query using the Contact Us  page.